Businesses are fast learning the value and importance of hiring Security to protect their people and assets. They also know having an Armed Officer is a major responsibility.
The APPS Armed Guard Course is the premier and most sought out training Academy Certification in Tennessee. We combine class room instruction with our state-of-the-art virtual simulator providing realistic scenarios to create a more comprehensive and robust course that far exceeds industry standards. Combined with our additional voluntary Medical First Responder course, you will graduate well prepared and well ahead of the standard Armed Guard courses. The intense 16-hour curriculum provides the confidence required to carry a firearm in pursuit of a professional career in the Security Specialist Industry.
An armed guard must complete eight hours in the classroom covering:
Legal limitations on the use of a firearm
Handling of a firearm
Safety and maintenance of firearms
An armed guard must complete four additional hours on the shooting range:
Marksmanship training / achieve a minimum of 70% on any silhouette target course approved by the commissioner
$185 Armed w/ Medical (Save $10)
$265 Armed w/ Less Than Lethal (Save $30)
$310 Armed w/ Medical & Less Than Lethal (Save $45)
DURATION: 12 hours
Prerequisite: Solid grasp on firearm safety and handling
Reliable Centerfire Firearm (firearms available for rent) every additional firearm added to your registration $25/ weapon
2 Magazines (Minimum)
Outside the Waistband Holster (If you own your own firearm)
Spare Magazine Holder
Eye and Ear Protection
Rugged/Comfortable Clothes and Shoes
50 rounds of practice ammunition (available for purchase if needed)
Please clean your gun in advance of the course or bring your gun cleaning kit with you
Notebook and pen
Under Tennessee Law: each Armed Security Officer MUST qualify/certify with each firearm they are going to carry while on duty. This means by make, model, and caliber.
• Serpa Type, Shoulder, or Small of the Back Holsters
• This is not an introductory class. Students must possess and demonstrate basic, safe gun handling. Failure to meet this requirement will result in removal from the course.
If you fail the shooting qualification for the Armed Guard or Armed Guard Recertification Class, you will have one (1) opportunity to reshoot. The fee is $20.00 and the qualification course must be reshot within 30 days of your original class date. You must schedule your reshoot with the front desk by calling 615-360-6002.